2022 Roosevelt Leadership Awards Awarded to Clyburn, Burgess, Kildee, McCaul, Arrington, and LaHood

WASHINGTON, DC — At a dinner in Austin, Texas final Thursday, The Ripon Society and the Franklin Heart for International Coverage Alternate honored six members of Congress with the 2022 Roosevelt Management Award.pearl It goals to acknowledge leaders who at this time embody a few of the identical qualities and traits that the President and Theodore Roosevelt displayed all through his life and profession.

“The Roosevelt Prize was created with a single premise in thoughts,” mentioned Jim Conzelman, President and CEO of Ripon and Franklin, within the opening speech of the dinner. “So there’s lots of good, considerate work being performed on Capitol Hill and Washington that folks do not hear about frequently. With belief in authorities at an all-time low, we imagine it is vital for Individuals to not solely study this job, but additionally be taught extra concerning the folks chargeable for doing it. To that finish, the Roosevelt Management Award honors the next leaders:

Who To have a way of obligation and repair pushed by patriotism.

Who Have a need to do what’s greatest for the pursuits of the American folks – no matter celebration and who will get the credit score; and,

Who Embody the qualities Theodore Roosevelt spoke of when he mentioned: ‘The prize belongs to those that are actually within the enviornment, to those that try valiantly; those that know nice enthusiasm, nice self-sacrifice and commit themselves to a worthy trigger; who is aware of greatest the triumph of excessive achievement; and at worst, in the event that they fail, they are going to fail with nice braveness, in order that their place won’t ever be with these chilly, timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.’

“The six leaders we honor tonight embody these qualities and extra. Amongst them are greater than 100 years of service in any respect ranges of presidency. Individually, they’ve left their mark in lots of vital methods.”

This 12 months’s Roosevelt Award winners embrace: US Consultant James E. Clyburn (D-SC); US Consultant Michael McCaul (R-TX); US Consultant Dan Kildee (D-MI); US Consultant Michael Burgess, MD (R-TX); US Consultant Jodey Arrington (R-TX); and US Consultant Darin LaHood (R-IL). All six members who accepted the award referred to their very own backgrounds and careers, and a few of the key efforts they’re engaged on in Congress at this time. Additionally they reiterated a typical theme—the significance of Republicans and Democrats attempting to get to know one another higher to allow them to higher clear up the challenges we face as a nation.

“We’re simply the sum of our experiences,” Clyburn mentioned whereas accepting the Roosevelt Prize. “I feel what we have to do is be taught to respect the experiences of everybody we are available contact with. As a result of every of us may have completely different experiences and these experiences make us who we’re.”

“I bear in mind John F. Kennedy’s phrases in his Keynote Deal with when he urged each American to ‘Ask what you are able to do on your nation’,” Burgess mentioned as he acquired the award. “We’ll battle and we’ll see our political variations. But when we work collectively and hold our eyes on the horizon, we are able to ship for our nation.”

Back1 of 3

Leave a Comment