Mostert takes temporary pole position for Bathurst 12 Hours

65. Coinspot Audi. Picture: Ross Gibb

Chaz Mostert grabbed the momentary submit for the Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hours after a qualifying session interrupted by a purple flag.

The introduction of the general standings elevated the emphasis positioned on the pace of newbie rivals and mixed every automobile’s quickest time from the primary (Bronze rated drivers solely) and second (all drivers) periods.

Liam Talbot (sixty fifth Audi) gained the Placement 1 with 2:05.5296s, regardless of getting some assist from a stoppage brought on by Yasser Shahin’s return at Murray’s Nook.

Brad Schumacher (#74 Audi) had a quick lap, however stopped the session a couple of minutes earlier than he crossed the beginning/end line.

That places the Mostert/Fraser Ross/Talbot mixture within the boxed seat, whereas Mercedes-AMG 888 had some work left to do, as Prince Jefri Ibrahim was simply twelfth and successfully six-tenths out of the interim high 10.

Crimson flags shortly returned when Will Brown beached his #19 Mercedes-AMG in Hell Nook within the second quarter, and there could be solely a comparatively small window of alternative earlier than Eric Constantindis returned to climb the mountain to complete one other session early.

That left Mostert in a decisive 0.3368s benefit over Kelvin van der Linde, who was left together with his 74 squad to upset the timing of the Q1 purple flag.

Subsequent up had been Ricardo Feller (#777 Audi) and Jules Gounon (#75 Mercedes-AMG) and the 45.Am entry was the fifth qualifier because of the efforts of the day’s underdogs Garth Walden and Brett Hobson.

Audi #24 was the largest casualty, as Shane van Gisbergen (#888 Mercedes-AMG) and Lee Holdsworth (#9 Audi) saved the Prime 10 Shootout dock sitting outdoors the bubble earlier than Q2.

Tony Bates was sixth within the opening continent, however David Reynolds didn’t handle a consultant lap time between numerous stops within the second quarter.

With the eleventh positions now locked, #24 will begin on the sixteenth. Brown returned to the monitor to maneuver as much as eleventh place.

It appears like 4 vehicles will begin tomorrow’s race from the pit lane.

Competing in each elements of the standings, the Supabarn Audi was at all times on the clock after a crash-induced automobile swap was due.

Audi of Crew BRM was unable to make it to Q1 after Mark Rosser’s Apply 5 incident and struggled in useless to get Nick Percat some shake-up laps in Q2.

The #95 MARC II V8 was additionally unable to qualify for an unclear motive, and Craft Bamboo Racing was out of the race resulting from an engine change.

Operating in a revised format with a late change, the Prime 10 Shootout will kick off at 4:10 AEST this afternoon and can decide the beginning lineup for tomorrow’s race beginning at 05:15 AEST on the entrance of the grid.

Outcomes: Complete high quality

location # Set driver Automobile Class compound time Openness
one 65 coin stain C.Mostert/L.Talbot Audi R8 GT3 Evo II APA 4:08.5891
2nd 74 Audi Sports activities Crew Valvoline Ok. van der Linde/B. Schumacher Audi R8 GT3 Evo II APA 4:08.9259 +0.3368
3 777 Audi Sports activities Crew Valvoline R.Feller/Y.Shahin Audi R8 GT3 Evo II APA 4:09.2725 +0.6834
4 75 SunEnergy1 Race J. Gounon/M. Konrad Mercedes AMG GT3 APA 4:09.7717 +1.1826
5 45 RAM Motorsports B.Hobson/G.Walden Mercedes AMG GT3 AAM 4:11.2551 +2.6660
6 4 Shield Race B.Barker/S.Grove Porsche 911 GT3R APA 4:12.7094 +4.1203
7 55 Valmont Race D.Padayachee/S.Pires Mercedes AMG GT3 AAM 4:13.8589 +5.2698
8 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering S.van Gisbergen/J.Ibrahim Mercedes AMG GT3 APA 4:13.9941 +5.4050
9 6 Wall Race T.D’Alberto/G.Denyer Lamborghini Huracan GT3 APA 4:14.5492 +5.9601
10 9 Hallmarc L.Holdsworth/M.Cini Audi R8 GT3 Evo II APA 4:14.9955 +1.4064
eleventh 19 Nineteen Company Pty Ltd W.Brown/M.Griffith Mercedes AMG GT3 APA 4:15.9068 +7.3177
12 50 M Motorsport/ Vantage Racing D.Wooden/T.Harrison KTM X-Spring GT2 I 4:16.1244 +7.5353
13 52 Wheels/ FX Racing PNG Z. Morse/Ok. Kassulke MARC II V8 I 4:18.1303 +9.5412
14 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport A. Davison/G. Emery Porsche 991 GT3 2nd Technology C 4:18.5107 +9.9296
15 eleventh Our Kloud-UpTo11 Motorsports E.Constantindis/A.Zerefos Porsche 991 GT3 2nd Technology C 4:30.5381 +21.9490
16 24 Tony Bates Racing D. Reynolds/T. Bates Audi R8 GT3 Evo II APA 5:33.7884 +1:25.1993
17 47 Supabarn D. Russell/P. Stokell Audi R8 GT3 Evo II AAM

Outcomes: Qualifying 1

Back1 of 2

Leave a Comment